August 17, 2020

The Breakfast Club, Angie Martinez, Sway, and Donnie Simpson ALL Make the Radio Hall of Fame

As Charlamagne mentioned, "Every Black person nominated this year made it into the Radio Hall of Fame."

All of the Black nominees are still active in radio as well. Donnie Simpson hosts afternoons on Majic 102.3/92.7 in the DMV; Sway Calloway on Sirius XM Shade 45; Angie Martinez and the Breakfast Club are on Power 105.1 in New York. Now they need to go back and posthumously add in names like Douglas "Jocko" Henderson, Frankie Crocker, Petey Greene, Eddie O'Jay, Rufus Thomas, and E. Rodney Jones. Nothing against Steve Harvey, but there is no way he should be in there before these legends. 

The results are in for the 2020 class of Radio Hall of Fame inductees, who will be honored Thursday, Oct. 29 during a live radio broadcast from multiple locations and across multiple audio platforms. The Radio Hall of Fame is part of the Museum of Broadcast Communications, located in Chicago, IL since 1991. Additional details about the exciting event to honor radio’s best and brightest will be coming soon.

The 2020 Class of Radio Hall of Fame Inductees are:

Mark & Brian – KLOS-FM
Longstanding Local/Regional (20 years or more)

Cokie Roberts – Political Reporter, NPR
Longstanding Network/Syndication (20 years or more)

Angie Martinez – WWPR-FM New York City
Active Local/Regional (10 years or more)

The Breakfast Club – Charlamagne Tha God, Angela Yee, DJ Envy, Premiere Networks
WWPR -FM, Active Network/Syndication (10 years or more)

Sway Calloway – Sirius XM Shade 45 Channel
Public Vote Music Format On-Air Personality

Glenn Beck – The Glenn Beck Show, Premiere Networks
Public Vote Spoken Word On-Air Personality

Donnie Simpson – WMMJ-FM Washington D.C.
Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee inductee

“Each year, I continue to be impressed by the caliber of our inductees, who deserve recognition for the high-quality radio they bring to listeners,” said Kraig Kitchin, chair of the Radio Hall of Fame. “I’d like to thank the Nominating Committee members for their valuable time to being part of the voting process.”

“The 2020 Class of inductees represents the diversity of voices that is heard on radio stations all across America,” said Dennis Green, chief revenue officer for Sun & Fun Media and Key Networks as well as chair of the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee. “It’s an honor to contribute my time to leading this committee.”

“The Museum of Broadcast Communications has been proud to be the home of the Radio Hall of Fame since 1991,” said David Plier, the museum’s board chair. “And this class of inductees is especially important as we celebrate the 100th anniversary of the founding of this still vital medium.”

Three inductees were determined by a vote from a panel of 600 industry professionals, four were voted on by the Nominating Committee and two were a result of a public vote from the listening public. The votes were monitored by certified public accounting firm Miller Kaplan Arase, LLP.

Sponsors of the 2020 Radio Hall of Fame induction include Premiere Networks and the Weiss Agency. Fans and industry professionals can find more information, including photos of the inductees, at www.radiohalloffame.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Add your comments anonymously if you prefer. Remember to share it on your Social Media.

Comments with links to other websites will not be published.

▼ The Latest: Hip Hop + R&B Radio, Media, Sports, and The Culture


Trending News, Topics, + Reports: Radio, Media, Sports, and Culture🎶


More Trending News, Topics, Reports, and Content via Urban Radio


Radio Interviews, Takes, and Discussions - Media, Music, Culture, Sports


Thanks for reading this post. Add your comments below.

© 2022 UrbanRadioNation.com, All Rights Reserved

. Powered by Blogger.

Favorite Posts This Month

Music Stream