Radio Moves and Media Quick Takes

Angela Yee is set to broadcast her last show on The Breakfast Club on Friday. Cardi B called in to the show on Thursday and suggested that she might like to sit in as guest host. It appears that the replacement plans for Yee are still up in the air. The Breakfast Club will move into new studios in January.

98.7 ESPN Radio New York shakes up their lineup with more local programming. The Michael Kay Show with Hot 97's Rosenberg of Ebro in the Morning remains in place. Bart & Hahn will leave the national ESPN Radio lineup. In January they will be heard exclusively on 98.7 FM discussing New York sports from 12-3pm. ESPN New York trails Sport Radio WFAN in ratings across the board as these programming changes were expected. >Read more...

Amy Robach and TJ Holmes of GMA3 hosted the show today as usual. The anchors on Good Morning America's 3rd Hour that airs in the afternoon on ABC are involved in an extramarital affair as reported by the London based tabloid The Daily Mail. ABC execs have been holding “emergency meetings” to address the mayhem since news broke of the affair. Disciplinary actions could be forthcoming...

CNN boss Chris Licht cut all live programming and has laid-off long time host Robin Meade at its sister network HLN, once known as Headline News. A number of reporters on CNN have lost their jobs as well.

Radio One's R&B station Magic 95.9 lands in second place in Baltimore's radio ratings with a 7.4 share of the audience 6+...



July 25, 2022

Radio Executive Marv Dyson and Walt "Baby" Love Head Up The 2022 Radio Hall of Fame Inductees

The 2022 Radio Hall of Fame Inductees were announced today. The African American inductees were Radio Executive Marv Dyson and Radio Legend Walt "Baby" Love. Dyson is interviewed by Chicago media personality Jeanne Sparrow in a podcast entitled "Why Signing Steve Harvey Is His Biggest Regret With Legendary Radio Executive Marv Dyson." Check out the full list of inductees below.

The Hall of Fame was founded by the Emerson Radio Corporation in 1988. Although the Hall of Fame is thought of as a national organization, over the years many of the early inductees were voted on based on their popularity, importance, and influence in Chicago radio and not necessarily nationwide, as that is where the organization is headquartered. The slant towards Chicago radio personalities is very much apparent.  

If the name Marv Dyson doesn't sound familiar to you that is the reason why and he was not an on-air personality. Dyson was General Manager of 106.3 WJPC-FM and 1390 WGCI/107.5 WGCI-FM in Chicago. It's also the reason why inductees such as Tom Joyner at WJPC and WGCI; and Steve Harvey at WGCI-FM made it to the Radio Hall of Fame years before Frankie Crocker or Donnie Simpson were even considered. Joyner and Harvey were local Chicago jocks years before either became syndicated radio morning show legends on urban radio. 

Walt "Baby" Love also worked in Chicago at WVON, but he is more well known for his nationally syndicated Gospel Traxx countdown show along with working at KYOK and KILT Houston, CKLW Windsor, WBLS, WNBC and WOR-FM/WXLO New York City, and KFI, KGFJ/KKBT, KHJ, KMPC, and KUTE all in Los Angeles.

The Museum of Broadcast Communications announced today the selection of nine new inductees into the RADIO HALL OF FAME for 2022. The 2022 Radio Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at the in-person 2022 Radio Hall of Fame Induction ceremony on Tuesday, November 1, 2022, at Chicago’s Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel. Tickets are on sale now at: www.radiohalloffame.com. A portion of ticket purchases is a tax-deductible charitable donation to the Museum of Broadcast Communications.


Marv Dyson – Radio Executive

Lon Helton – Country Countdown USA

Ellen K – KOST-FM Los Angeles

Broadway Bill Lee – WCBS-FM New York

Walt “Baby” Love – Gospel Traxx

Carol Miller – WAXQ-FM New York

Chris “Mad Dog” Russo – Sirius XM

Jeff Smulyan – Emmis Communication President & CEO

Suzyn Waldman – New York Yankees Radio Network (WFAN-A/F New York)

Six inductees were determined by a voting participant panel comprised of more than 800 industry professionals and three inductees were voted on by the Radio Hall of Fame Nominating Committee. The confidential ballot was conducted by Votem.com and overseen by Miller Kaplan’s Andrew Rosen. 

Kraig T. Kitchin, Co-Chair of the Radio Hall of Fame, commented: “Congratulations to each member of the 2022 Class of Inductees. Our forthcoming inductees have made a wonderful impact on the lives of their listeners and our industry. We’re thrilled to be able to celebrate their respective careers and honor them with an induction to the Radio Hall of Fame”.

Dennis Green, Co-Chair of the Radio Hall of Fame, remarked: “It is an honor to induct nine worthy individuals to the Radio Hall of Fame. This year was our highest voter participation ever and the radio industry picked an amazing, diverse class of broadcasters and executives that we are proud to call Hall of Famers. These individuals have made a lasting impact on this amazing industry, cementing their place as part of the legacy that makes radio special.”

Fans and industry professionals can find more information, including photos of the inductees, at www.radiohalloffame.com.

The Radio Hall of Fame was founded by the Emerson Radio Corporation in 1988. The Museum of Broadcast Communications took over operations in 1991. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Add your comments anonymously if you prefer. Remember to share it on your Social Media.

Comments with links to other websites will not be published.

▼ The Latest: Hip Hop + R&B Radio, Media, Sports, and The Culture


Trending News, Topics, + Reports: Radio, Media, Sports, and Culture🎶


More Trending News, Topics, Reports, and Content via Urban Radio


Radio Interviews, Takes, and Discussions - Media, Music, Culture, Sports


Thanks for reading this post. Add your comments below.

© 2022 UrbanRadioNation.com, All Rights Reserved

. Powered by Blogger.

Favorite Posts This Month

Music Stream